Mavhima dissolves NSSA board

Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare Minister Paul Mavhima has dissolved the National Social Security Authority (NSSA) board with immediate effect with a three member interim board having been in put in place.

Staff Reporter 

Mavhima said NSSA is currently engaged  in a strategic  reorganisation and restructuring   exercise which has been necessitated by the  need to  respond to   emerging   issues  in the world of  work and   align  its mandate with the national  development agenda.

“Accordingly the NSSA board has been dissolved immediately   to pave way for this transformation. In the meantime  a three member  interim board  will oversee the  administration  of the authority  while  a substantive  board will be constituted in  three months” he said.

The outgoing 8 member  board was chaired by Cuthbert Chidoori with other members including  Priscilla Mujuru,  Mfaro Cecilia, Alexander Moyo, Phillip Hamadziripi,  Ozias Hove  and Thomas Masvingwe among others.

 NSSA has been in the past criticised for abusing workers’ retirement savings by making poor investment choices and the new board was expected to implement sweeping reforms at the authority and uphold good corporate governance.